top of page

Change: The Power of the Book of Mormon


When I think, and learn, about the prophets who have come before us and the prophet that still guides us today, I often ponder about their level of knowledge, their wealth of experiences and their relationship with the Savior.  I aspire to be like them, to gain that level of familiarity with Christ and his gospel. I wonder about all that they have (and have had) on their plates being the mouthpiece of God and the one leading and guiding the world.  I imagine what it would be like preparing to speak in General Conference (twice a year, LDS general authorities speak to the whole congregation) - how does one answer each person's questions? How would you deliver a message that can touch the hearts of everyone when they are spread out all across the world, all different ages, and all facing very individual challenges with different levels of knowledge and experience? President Thomas S. Monson did so by simply stating: "My dear associates in the work of the Lord, I implore each of us to prayerfully study and ponder the Book of Mormon each day. As we do so, we will be in a position to hear the voice of the Spirit, to resist temptation, to overcome doubt and fear, and to receive heaven’s help in our lives."  President Monson, being 90 years old, knowing that he would only be able to speak for a few minutes [due to his health], and having a fortune of experience and understanding within him, chose to encourage members to read and ponder about the Book of Mormon. Then, how crucial must the Book of Mormon really be? 

"Nothing draws you closer to the Lord Jesus Christ than a desire to change." Joaquin E. Costa 

This desire to change is the power that the Book of Mormon so softly stores between each of its one pages and within each of its soul fulfilling words. It initiates, and then continues to guide, a transformation that so gracefully pushes us to become more like Jesus Christ and increase our faith in our Father in Heaven.  I claim and testify of these words with everything within me, all that I am and all that I will ever be is because I have a knowledge of Jesus Christ and his ability to change us! 

"If you have ever sat down to watch a sunrise while it was still dark, there is a time just before the sun makes its appearance, when it seems like just the edge of the world is lit up. It's this, kind of foggy, peaceful time of blue-grey light illuminating only the very edge of the earth. This time in a sunrise has always been one of my favorite parts and as I sit here writing, it's kind of the perfect representation of how I felt. A part of me knew that there was something greater in store, with greater happiness, but it wasn't the right time yet. And, day to day everything was really good, I was a happy, but at the end of the day that burnt orange and fiery red sun was still missing. These past ten months have been a time of pausing for growth, learning, and redirection. And ten months ago, when it all started, that is not how I would have described it. Nonetheless, the sun is rising! The answers are coming! Questions that I have carried around deep inside my heart for quite some time are beginning to clear into a path. It is almost as if a haze is finally lifting and sunshine is scooting in to fill its place."

I wrote this in my journal almost two years ago, about a year after I wrote this post. It was a time in my life when this conversion was taking place. I was being pushed and stretched, and the gospel is such a personal experience that while I went throughout my normal day to day routine, I was always happy! But when I started to think about what my "bigger picture" things looked like, sadness would creep out from the bottom of my heart. I had questions wondering about who was I supposed to be? What is it that I should study? What is it that my goals should be? I have treasured knowledge and attending school more than anything really and I couldn't find something that kept my attention more than a semester. I studied everything that I thought I could possibly love and enjoy from pre-med classes, to art, to world herbs & vegetables (hhaha good times). All of which are still a part of my life today, just in a much different priorities. I am studying Nutritional Science at BYU; I put my creativity to work in cooking, writing, and really anything that I can hand make; and plants fill every window seal in Gant and I's small apartment. I am now married to my best friend, and life has really never been sweeter! 

 “Change. It can be risky. It can be difficult. It can also be beautiful. And it will always show you more of yourself.” Unknown

I am sure when I turn around in just a few years, that I will again look at everything that has happened to me and understand it in a much clearer picture, while standing on a much firmer foundation. I am simply here to tell you to have faith, to allow change to transpire. It will require you to be vulnerable, to look at who you are and have the courage become better, to break down the foundation that you originally built, and begin to piece together a much purer one, sealed with Christ and layered with his love. Just as any new beginning, it can be messy and personal but what I have found, I wouldn’t trade for the world.  Change is simply an opportunity to exercise faith and ends up unearthing everything beautiful, exposing more of who you are and who you were always meant to be! 

I know the Book of Mormon is true, I know that each one of us can change because I have seen and experienced a change within myself. I know that God and Jesus Christ love you more than we can even comprehend. I know, that with all of my heart, he has his arm stretched out to each one of us and we can turn to him and walk through this life alongside him!

There is power in faith.

There is power in change. 

Yet, combine change and faith 

Suddenly the world sits on your very finger tip 

Subscribe to YouTube

Follow on Instagam: 

@alora.pratt

bottom of page